Author Paulette Harper in the Spotlight

“I believe my struggle as a writer is being able to stay focused because of so many distractions in life. I know I need to write, but life tends to pull me away for what I really want to do,” Paulette says when I asked about her struggles as a writer. She’s written two Christian non-fiction, inspirational books, a Christian fiction novel, one novella, an author’s manual, and two anthologies.

With Paulette’s hectic schedule, she’s also a business owner and wears many hats. “Because I have a desire to see other aspiring writer’s dreams come to reality, I’ve created Write Now Literary workshops. These workshops are designed to coach aspiring writers in the areas of creativity, development, and publication of Christian books. God has given me a desire for writers, especially those who want to write for the Lord. Through these workshops, I provide tools, resources, and opportunities to help writers succeed in the industry. I am also the owner of Write Now Literary Virtual Book Tours, a company that organizes book tours for authors of Christian genre, authors of children’s book, and authors of clean books.”

Each writer that I’ve come in contact with has a different way of writing and producing quality work. I asked Paulette what her method of writing was. This is what she had to say, “Before doing anything, I make sure I’m in a quiet area, free from distractions. When I’m ready to write, I sit at my laptop and begin writing. Depending on the chapter I’m working on, that determines the direction I’ll go. I am able to write as long as there is a constant flow. I find that writing in the morning is the best time for me.  I live a very productive life with family, church, and juggling my businesses. Therefore, if I don’t start my day off in this fashion, everything else will pull from my time and attention.”

Being in the genre of Christian Fiction, Paulette says as an inspirational and fiction writer, she writes to inspire and empower readers. “I write because I feel I have a message to share with readers, not only to entertain readers but to help them grow spiritually. I love to mix real-life stories into my fiction. Although each story is unique, we experience some of the same feelings, situations, and challenges in life in which the reader can identity. With the ability to craft fiction books, it gives me the opportunity to live through each character. When it comes to non-fiction, true stories, I always want to stir the heart of men.”

The literary business has changed a lot. One question I like to ask authors, writers and professionals who have been a part of this business for a while what their thoughts are on today’s industry. “As it relates to Indie Authors, the publishing industry has taken notice to some great Wordsmiths. At one time, the industry frowned upon Indie authors and did not take them seriously; but with the advancement of social media, Indie authors have risen to the platform and have made a name for themselves. I believe e-books have also helped Indie authors reach a wider audience of readers.”

“When it relates to writing fiction, I believe I must improve on developing my characters so that the readers can identify more with them.” Paulette give her advice and tips from her experience. “I would highly recommend to those who are aspiring to become authors to be patient with the process of becoming well-known. Connecting with your audience and branding yourself will take time. Especially for new writers, the market is flooded with books for readers to choose from; so by keeping this in mind, you must be able to patiently wait for your time to shine.”

With 2014 being a year of success, readers can expect growth and development as from Paulette. She’s also working on the sequel to Living Separate Lives.”

More about Paulette

Paulette Harper is an award-winning and best-selling author. She is the owner of Write Now Literary Virtual Book Tours and is passionate about helping authors succeed in publishing and marketing their books. Paulette has been writing and publishing books since 2008. Paulette is the author of That Was Then, This is Now, Completely Whole and The Sanctuary. Her articles have appeared on-line and in print.

Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/PauletteHarperAuthor

Facebook readers group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/52554599435/

Amazon Author Profile: http://tinyurl.com/mvzj65j

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/pauletteharper

Buy Links

Amazon e-book: http://amzn.com/B00GLF5BW0

Barnes & Noble e-book: http://tinyurl.com/lv5g79b

Leave a Reply

