VIP with Dominique; Do you have a Book in you?

Good Morning! It’s Monday. I wanted to start the day off with a little encouragement.

I have many writers come to me and say, I want to write but I don’t know where to start. Sometimes people approach me in awe about my publishing career and say, I’ve always wanted to write a book, I just never did. In my opinion, there’s a story in every person and as one famous person said, authors always live twice.

We live right next to our characters as we live our own lives and sometimes, we live our lives twice because the story we are telling is our own.

There is no one right way to get started as an author. If it’s something you want to do, you just do it. Fear is always going to take its toll on us no matter what we do. The success is doing it afraid and being able to say I did that and if you didn’t succeed you can still say, I tried that.

If you want to get started as an author, putting fear aside and all let me help you. First, think about what you want to write about. You should have a genre in mind. When people approach me and say I want to write a book, I ask, what do you want to write about? They’ll say, a love story, a street lit. , a mystery and suspense book, a biography, a thriller. If you know you want to write a book, you have to know what you want the book to be about.

Once you’ve figured out that you want to write a book and you know what it’s going to be about, now is the time to simply write it. If you are as organized as I am, create character profiles and create those who are going to walk the pages of your book. No story is strong if it does not have a strong main character. Your characters must be believable and relatable! This is important. Then you want to create an outline. This outline tells you what’s going to take place in your book at what time. It’s gives small detail for each chapter. It includes a prologue and an epilogue. Once this is done, now you write.

Once you have written and completed the book, you have walked into a whole new ball game…to publish or not to publish…that is the question.

Here are a few key points when writing a book (published or unpublished)

  • Do not write afraid. Do not worry about what people will think about your work. Just write your story and complete it.
  • If you haven’t decided if you are going to publish your book or not that’s ok. At some time during this process you will figure it out.
  • If you do want to publish your work, start networking. Let friends and family read the first few chapters and get a feel for the work.
  • The title is not important at this point.
  • Do not write if you don’t feel it. Don’t push yourself to do something your mind and heart is not into.
  • You have to love your story before you expect others to.

Every time I write and finish a book it’s like birthing a new child. They are each my babies because they have come from a special place within me and at the end of the day, that’s all that matters!

I encourage you o not be afraid. Tell your story the best way you see fit. If you want to write a book but don’t know what the first thing to do it…just start writing!

This Week on The POV Lounge: Blog Tours, Question of the Week, Author Promotions.

Contact me about getting your book promoted!

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

