VIP with Dominique; Creating a Schedule

Happy Monday!

Let’s get down to business!

Creating a schedule is important to me because I am an organized person. I run my house in an organized why; I like schedules. As an author and business owner, they help me get through my busy days. By sticking to my schedule, I know that I am completing the work that needs to get done.

Many people are not like me. Some people just don’t like schedules and have a hard time sticking to a schedule. Most of the time it is because their minds are constantly on the move and they get things done sporadically rather than in an order.

But if you are someone who needs help with sticking to schedule or getting things in order for your work or business, I have a few tips.

First, make a list. I love lists. Think about the things that need to get done. Write them down in order of importance.

Secondly, think about the other things that you need to get done. Figure in a way to get this list done during a time that’s good for you.

Third, keep yourself from veering off of the task at hand. Stick to it! Keep distractions out of your reach. If there are things that tend to get in the way, keep them out of the room or from within your reach. This way you can stick to the job at hand and get things done.

Points to keep in mind:

  • Never give yourself too much work. Give yourself enough to complete that/those tasks for the day
  • Stay encouraged
  • Remember what’s most important in your schedule
  • When you have completed your list and everything is checked off, you will feel a sense of completion and satisfaction.

Another thing to keep in mind is that many professionals do not like to deal with people who are unorganized. I get tons of emails a day. Forgetting something, although it happens to the best of us, is really not allowed. We have tools around us to keep us informed with everything; smartphones, emails, calendars. There’s no way we should forget anything. Anytime I have something important going on, my husband always says, put it in your phone. Everything that I need to be reminded about is put into my iphone and ipad schedule.

When you are dealing with others, keep in mind that they want prompt responses, someone whose mind is on the task at hand and not someone who is unorganized. If you don’t deal with things in an organized manor, do it for the professionals that you do business with. There’s nothing like losing a business contact because you weren’t organized enough.

To you it may seem small but to them it could be a deal breaker!

Enjoy your day!

See ya next week for another VIP with Dominique Article.

Signing Off,

Dominique

 

Leave a Reply

