Hot Topic Monday; Having a Work Schedule as an Author

Happy Monday!

As an author and business owner I have a set working schedule. I can however change things up a bit if needed. It’s the joys of working for myself. So today I want to know I how your organize your work schedule as an author and/or business owner.

SPEAK!

See ya next Monday for another Question of the Week

Signing Off,

Dominique

One thought on “Hot Topic Monday; Having a Work Schedule as an Author

  1. These days, I have to use the “get in where you fit in” approach to writing. I hear people all the time saying things like, “I wish I had more time” or, “There should be more hours in the day so I can get some things done”. The truth is, everyone has the same exact amount of time every day and if you really want to get something done, you will get it done.

    I’ve had to learn how to use my time wisely and balance everythign in a way where it works to my advantage and still allows me a few moments to relax or chill. A typical day for me now is getting up, eating breakfast, taking my meds, showering and going to work at 10 am. My normal daily work shift is 10:00 – 6:30 most days. If any ideas pop into my head, I’ll pull out my notepad that I keep in my back pocket or a post it and write it down. On my first 15 minute break I will eat my lunch, on my 30 minute lunch break, I will pull out my laptop and either write, type up some things on my book or I will get caught up on my school work. On my last 15 minute break I will eat my dinner. After work I head to the gym and workout for 45 minutes to an hour (on the days when the gym is closed by the time I get off, i’ll get a 20 minute walk in on my 30 minute lunch break). After that I’ll either head home to do more school work or write some more, or I will head to Barnes and Noble to do the same. At 9:00 pm I take my night meds and have a small snack. Then I will get back on my school work and writing social networking, etc. Usually around midnight I shut it all down and will either play a few games on my tablet, talk to some folks on facebook, right a little bit more in my notepad or turn something on Netflix until I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

