Poet of the Month; Filling the veins with a poetic flow

This month’s Poet Spotlight belongs to Author/Poet Alfreada Brown-Kelly, who shares with us her love of poetry, and the pride of loving who she is and what she has become. A native of Louisiana, Alfreada brings to us years of poetic experience, motivated by her passionate views of her own self worth.

Among her books of poetry, Alfreada conveys her poetic worth in The Skin I’m In. She describes the meaning behind the 2010 release. “The message that I am conveying through The Skin I Am In is that I am who I am.  I am happy with the person that I have become and I wouldn’t want to be anyone else.  I am happy with the physical, spiritual and mental state that I am in.”

Where does Alfreada get her inspiration? “My inspirations come from my life experiences and experiences that my friends have encountered.” Life is definitely poetry in motion, and Alfreada makes sure that her readers get the full effect of her experiences. She feels her style of writing holds no doubt in her views of the world. “I would like my readers to describe my style of writing as free and open.  Most importantly, I want my readers to state that I am a poet who writes about real issues and address the issues.” The poet also explains the effortlessness of her writing process. “My writing process is very simple.  I can be anywhere and if I hear someone use a phrase or tell a story I will start writing.  A prime example is when I became a volunteer for CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates), I heard a speaker describe the process battered woman goes through.  I constructed a poem called ‘Cycle of Abuse’.”

Read the full article at From A Writer’s POV

Leave a Reply

