Hot Topic Monday; Your Literary Career

Happy Monday!

As many of you know, I’m a literary career mentor for authors and writers. I help authors and writers get to the next level in their career. A lot of times authors and writers don’t look at writing as a career because they have a full time job they go to during the day. But it is true. Writing books is a career…well maybe not a career but its a business. If you are planning on making writing a career, you need to assess it as a career, not just a hobby. Hobby’s are things we come to when were in the mood to do. A career is a long drawn out occupation that allows someone to grow in it.

If you are writing a books, ask yourself is this your career or hobby?

Speak! I wanna hear from you!

Signing Off,

Dominique

One thought on “Hot Topic Monday; Your Literary Career

  1. Writing for me started as an outlet. It was a way for me to escape my troubles by writing poetry that reflected what I was going through. I knew early that I’d been given a gift, that something great in me had been unlocked. After I lost my first collection of poetry I lost interest completely. I thought I’d failed myself and my gift but it returned to me years later. That was the moment I realized that I had to do something with it.

    For me, writing is a career that began as a project for my English class that progressed into a living journal or my own personal life’s poetry. It was never at any point a hobby. Even though I still have my full time job, I do consider myself to be a writer first, and I get it in however and whenever I can. On my 15 minute breaks, my 30 minute lunch, as soon as I get home; I literally sleep with my laptop in my face.

    I love this gift that I’ve been blessed with and in my heart, mind and soul I know that I became Don Savant for a specific reason. As a matter of fact, I feel it’s part of my calling in life.

Leave a Reply

