Winter Authors Campaign; Savanna J Interview

Savanna J joins us today on The POV Lounge. She is apart of the Winter Authors Campaign. We interviewed the author about her status as a published and her current book. Check her out!

From A Writer’s POV (POV): Why did you become a writer?

Savanna J (SJ): My college English professor felt that I had talent and commented that I should consider majoring in English and becoming a writer. I didn’t take him seriously at first but later, I began writing as a form of therapy to escape the stressors of life. The more I wrote, the more I enjoyed it. Eventually my writing led to publishing my first book and now I wouldn’t have it any other way.

POV: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

SJ: After showing my first manuscript to a friend, she encouraged me to publish. It felt empowering to have someone believe in me and my writing, and it gave me the boost I needed to follow through with my dream of publishing.

POV: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

SJ: I’m really a hopeless romantic and I love happy endings, so I decided to create my own.

POV: If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

SJ: Someday, I would love to do a Non-Fiction. Actually, it’s currently in my plans to do so. I have the subject and title picked out.

POV: What is your writing process?

SJ: There is usually something or someone who inspires a story in me. Once I receive the inspiration, I plan the beginning and ending of the book. Because I’m easily distracted at home, I have a special place where I go alone to write. While I’m there, I don’t answer my phone or emails; that way I stay focused.

POV: How long did it take you to write your current book?

SJ: It took me about six months.

POV: What is different about your book from other books in its genre?

SJ: In Behind Closed Doors, I tackle a couple of topics that are considered taboo in the African-American culture. Subjects that are often swept under the rug because we are too uncomfortable to talk about them.

POV: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

SJ: With my next book, I plan on devoting more consistent time writing. I spent time working on Behind Closed Doors; I just didn’t spend time on it daily. My plan moving forward is to write everyday for at least four hours.

POV: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

SJ: When I’m in my writing spot. There are no distractions and no one who knows me. I can become so engrossed, that I look up and suddenly realize its dark outside and I’ve been writing for about five hours.

POV: Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?

SJ: My favorite author is Zora Neale Hurston. I think she’s one of the greatest authors who have ever lived. My favorite book is “Death Be Not Proud” by John J. Gunther.  It’s the story of his son’s battle with a brain tumor and a true testament of a parents love.

POV: What books are you currently reading?

SJ: I’m currently reading “Mama Ruby” by Mary Monroe.

POV: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

SJ: For starters definitely keep with your dream. You may look about and say, ‘wow the industry is so inundated with authors, who is going to care about what I have to say?’ To that I reply there is always room for more but remember writing your book is the easy piece. The work comes after your novel is completed; marketing is the important part. If you write a book and don’t push it no one will ever know and people are not going to seek you out; you have to go after the reader.

Secondly I’d say, align yourself with writers who are serious about their craft and are going somewhere; The Law of Attraction is real. If you surround yourself with people who are successful, and are willing to put in the hard work, you will become successful.

Lastly, find a mentor who is willing to support and guide you. This may be the most important part of all. As I said, it’s easy to write a book but if you don’t know where to go from there, you’ll become lost and discouraged. A mentor is like a map if you will and writing is an adventure. Have fun with it but seek guidance along the way to ensure you reach your destination.

Read more about the author at www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com

 

Leave a Reply

