“From Corporate America to Self-Employed” Business Owner of the Month

Social media navigation, editing and proofreading services, word processing, thesis and manuscript processing, data entry, presentations, database management, mass mailings as well as other clerical service…just to name a few is what Gazelle Simmons provides for authors and writers. Gazelle has been in business since June 1998. She does not have a staff. With that she is able to give her clients her undivided attention and offer confidentiality.

“I started my business so I could do what I love while being available for the people I love. At the time, I was just finishing another dead end temporary assignment after ten years of working in Corporate America. I was a single mother of two children, then five and four, caregiver for two elderly parents now deceased and slowly going crazy trying to do it all. I got tired of saying ‘I have to go to work’ to my children and my parents. I got tired of uncompassionate, insensitive, verbally abusive and toxic bosses, who asked too much, gave too little and demanded that I be content with the situation. Something had to give. I got tired of it all and did something I hadn’t done before. I said enough is enough and looked for alternatives. It didn’t hurt that I was so naïve as to what I was getting myself into, that I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. All I knew is that I had to change my life, make more time for my family and keep earning money to support our household. Someone recommended that I start my own business and I did just that. It was amazing to me looking back that I survived because I didn’t know I wasn’t supposed to.”

Read the full article at: www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

