Up & Coming Author of the Month; Sharon Fox

When I first knew that this month’s Up & Coming Author wrote a cookbook, suddenly my appetite increased tenfold. Not only for what recipes were most appealing to me or even the pictures of food that’s to die for, but for the author herself. In an intriguing facet, I was curious how new author Sharon Fox was going to pull this one off with her first book, that happens to be a cookbook, Comfort Food for the Mind, Body, and Soul.

From the pictures posted on Sharon’s website, and on Facebook, I just knew words wouldn’t be able to capture the quintessence of such elegance and beauty in a picture. How in the world can there be any words other than the recipe itself besides awesome?! “My book Comfort Food for the Mind, Body, and Soul, is actually just that!  There are NO pictures in it at all!  It wasn’t difficult at all.  One reason I decided to do it like that is, I wanted to encourage people to get into the kitchen and go back to making home cooked meals like the older generations used to.  Most cookbooks you see now have all these magnificent pictures in them and I feel like that is one thing that deters people from trying to cook sometimes.  Sure, the food looks wonderful, but they also create doubt in the minds of people who don’t cook a lot.  They think, ‘I’ll never be able to make mine look like that!’  But I know MY recipes are absolutely amazing, and when the people go in and make these simple dishes I want them to be amazed at what they created…without having anything to compare it to!!  It’s my way of inspiring them to do more.”

Published on April 8th, 2011, Comfort Food for the Mind, Body, and Soul brings a unique retrospect in bringing out vivid images through words. Sharon’s love of food and cooking exudes from her pores, down to her pen to produce fantastic creations on paper. What are people saying about it? “The response has been tremendous!  I have received so many emails from people who say they haven’t been in the kitchen in years before purchasing my book.  Some say they tried a couple of recipes and later found themselves cooking every weekend.  I always get customers telling me how easy the recipes are and they didn’t have to purchase gourmet items that they would never use again.  It makes me feel so good to hear things like this. This means I did a very good job and my mission is accomplished.”

Read the full article on Sharon Fox at: http://www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com/inthisedition.htm

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

