Shakara Cannon; FAC Interview

Today is the last interview day for the Fall Authors Campaign. We interview Author Shakara Cannon. Get to know the writer behind, “This Can’t Be Life”

From A Writer’s POV (POV): Why did you become a writer?

Shakara Cannon (SC): I became a writer because writing is something that I love to do. There is nothing else that I’d rather be doing aside from writing!

POV: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

SC: I knew I wanted to publish a book when I began writing my first novel, This Can’t be Life. I knew this was something I wanted people to read.

POV: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

SC: I chose contemporary fiction/general fiction because it’s what I read. It’s what my favorite authors write.

POV: If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

SC: I would love to write mystery and suspense. I also write self-help/motivational books as well.

POV: What is your writing process?

SC: Being a writer/publisher makes my writing process a lot harder than it used to be. I usually wake up early in the morning, have my cup of coffee and sit at my desk and start writing while it’s still quiet and all are sleeping around me. I think it is very important to have a specific writing space that you are comfortable in. That really helps.

POV: How long did it take you to write your current book?

SC: It took me many years to write This Can’t be Life. When I first started it I wasn’t very disciplined. I’d go for months without writing one word, but once I got more serious and decided to finish it and get it published it didn’t take much longer from there.

POV: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

SC: I’d definitely finish off the story in one book instead of two. It’s a lot of pressure writing a sequel to a story that is so well received!

POV: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

SC: I’m most comfortable in my writing zone when all is quiet. When the phone isn’t ringing or vibrating from a text or email. When my coffee is hot and strong…when it’s flowing, there is nothing like that feeling. It’s truly amazing to sit down and bring forth something from my imagination and make a complete story out of it.

POV: Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?

SC: I don’t have favorites. I have top 5’s. I never pick favorites in anything. I just love great writers and great stories.

POV: What books are you currently reading?

SC: I am currently reading Crack, by Shaka Senghor. He is an amazingly talented writer. I have a few books lined up to read after I finish Crack, one of them being Unsigned Hype by Booker T. Mattison.

POV: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

SC: My advice to anyone who wants to publish their first book would be to make sure they have a good book. Make sure it is edited and proofread and free of errors, as much as possible. I’d also advise to do your research and learn as much as you can. Last but not least, I’d advise a new author to not put your trust in too many people in this business. Be very aware of the predators that are out to take advantage of you because you are naive to how this business works.

Get to know more about Shakara’s book “This Can’t Be Life”

http://www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com/shakaracannon.htm

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

