Spring/Summer Author Campaign with Lena Williamson

Today The POV Lounge is featuring Author Lena Williamson from the Spring/Summer Campaign. Read the interview and then check out a full feature at www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com

From A Writer’s POV: (POV) Why did you become a writer?

Lena Williamson: (LW) I have always been a writer.  As young as seven or eight years old I was drawn to poetry and the written word.  After experiencing life and love, writing was not only a passion but therapy as well.

POV: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

LW: I knew I wanted to publish a book after I finished writing one.  It is very easy for people to say “I’m going to write a book.” The actual process is much more intense and time consuming.  After the blood, sweat and tears of writing, editing, and typing I would have felt cheated if I did not publish my work.

POV: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

LW: I am fortunate to write in different genres such as fiction and writing for children.  Each genre reflects a part of my personality and character.

POV: If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

LW: I love horror and science fiction.  I would love to be able to create story lines that transcend our world and explores others.

POV: What is your writing process?

LW: I appreciate writing in a notebook, in a quiet room and alone with my thoughts.  I truly believe God is interjected into every piece of my writing and he allows me to see stories or express emotions that would have not come about on their own.  With a Newport cigarette in one hand and a pen in another I let the words flow until my hands cramp up or my mind goes blank.  Then I read over what was just written while in a trance like state.

POV: How long did it take you to write your current book?

LW: About three months.

POV: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

LW: As a writer and slightly obsessive compulsive perfectionist I could give you a laundry list of things.  However I think I would simply take more time in editing and proofing.  I get so excited once I have written the work that I often breeze through the editing process to see the final result.  I need to be more patient with myself.

POV: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

LW: When I have lost sleep over the ideas of a story and can think of nothing else but getting my ideas down on paper.  Once the pen begins to flow I feel like this is where I need to be and what I am destined to do.

POV: Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?

LW: I would have to say I do not have just one favorite author or book.  I appreciate Maya Angelou just as much as Richard Wright.  I would quote Langston Hughes at the very moment I am day dreaming of Mark Twain/Samuel Clemens.  I am a fan of all Literature throughout history.

POV: What books are you currently reading?

LW: Not too long ago I read The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Neffinegger.  At the moment I am working on another fiction book titled All in a Day’s Work and have little time to read other works.

POV: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

LW: DIY, Do-It-Yourself.  When I wrote my first book I did not have access to any big or small Publisher’s but I did have access to the artistic community.  I was told about self-publishing sites such as Lulu or Xlibris.  These sites give a writer the chance to become a publisher.  They provide options to those of us who have rich imaginations and poor pockets.  Also enlist your friends, family and children if you have to, to help make your dreams a reality.  The only person standing in your way is YOU.

Tomorrow on The POV Lounge…

VIP with Dominique!

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

