Interview with Author R.F Ricks Spring/Summer Campaign

Join me today as we get to know R.F Ricks. She is a participant in our Spring/Summer Author/Writer Campaign.

From a Writer’s POV: (POV) Why did you become a writer?

R.F Ricks: (RFR) I started off journaling in 2006, but I began writing my 1st novel in 2007.

POV: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

RFR: When I received positive feedback from several people that had the opportunity to read a few chapters of my novel.  I also knew I wanted to publish when ideas for another book kept surfacing in my mind. I felt like leaving Foolish Endeavors unpublished would hinder me from moving forward with my next novel.

POV: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

RFR: I have always enjoyed reading erotica and with some of my own personal experiences and those of people close to me I felt compelled to try my hand at writing erotica myself.  Plus several of my close friends urged me to write and thankfully I listened to them.

POV: If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

RFR: Mystery

POV: What is your writing process?

RFR: I people watch at a local café, bookstore or mall to get inspiration or to put a face/body type on my characters.  I also keep a recorder handy to capture any random thoughts or ideas for my novels.  At times, I will light some scented candle, turn on some jazz, sit back and close my eyes to set a certain mood right before I begin writing.

POV: How long did it take you to write your current book?

RFR:  It took me a little over a year to finish Foolish Endeavors. 

POV: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

RFR: Not knowing when to stop (trying to fit every story or thought into one novel).  I will also have my novel edited by someone other than myself.  It saves so much time and energy doing it right the first time.  It also cuts back on unnecessary frustration. I also banned myself from reading other novels.  That was a huge mistake because reading other authors work relaxes my mind and also gets my creative juices flowing.

POV: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

RFR: When I’m relaxed and not worrying about others inhibitions. 

POV: Who is your favorite author?

RFR: Eric Jerome Dickey                 

POV: What is your Favorite book?

RFR: Genvieve and June Bug

POV: What books are you currently reading?

RFR: Temptation by Victoria Christopher Murray

POV: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

RFR: Research and definitely reach out to fellow authors that have already traveled down that road. 

Read more on R.F Ricks at www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com& www.JayLiJazPublishing.com

R.F is apart of the Spring/Summer Author/Writer Campaign that started back up this month. Join us all month as we spotlight the author!

Tomorrow on The POV Lounge:

Cover Story; “The Author’s Den Back to School Festival”

Get your business on the Top Business List of the Month for July! http://www.fromawriterspovmagazine.com/apps/webstore/products/category/605540

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

