Winter Author’s Campaign; Paulette Harper

Today we are interviewing author Paulette Harper. She is apart of the Winter Authro’s Campaign that is going on all month. Read about the author!

Dominique Watson (DW): Why did you become a writer?

Paulette Harper (PH): I believe that decision was already made for me by my Heavenly Father. My personal experiences in life actually drew me into this profession. Seeing others empowered through my writings confirms that this is actually what I’m supposed to be doing.

DW: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

 PH: My story is different from many writers; I didn’t grow up with the aspiration to become a professional writer. When God spoke to my heart about writing, I knew He wanted me to write inspirational booksbooks that encouraged, motivated and led readers toward a closer walk with Him. With that being my vision, my writing journey began in Jan 2007. Since then I have published two books and have participated in one anthology.

DW: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

PH: I enjoy writing books that empower and enriches the lives of every believer. My audience is those who are searching for a more fulfilled life with Christ, therefore non-fiction inspirational books will be my focus.

DW:  If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

PH: Christian fiction. I’m fascinated by the creativity and the talent of fiction writers. To take a character and make them come alive is so amazing.

DW: What is your writing process?

PH: People are sometimes amazed at the way I write. I don’t do much journaling but I can sit at the computer and God will begin to download things for me to write. I get the chapter titles and build the chapters around the title.

DW: How long did it take you to write your current book?

PH: It took me about 6 months to finish Completely Whole

DW: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

PH: I will definitely make sure I promote at least 6 months ahead of my scheduled release date.

DW: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

PH: I get most of my writing done over the weekends. Because I still work in corporate American my time during the weekdays is somewhat limited.

DW: Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?

PH: I don’t have a favorite author but a few authors that have influenced my life have been T.D. Jakes, Miles Monroe and Joyce Meyers. My favorite book I must say is the bible. It’s my map for life.

DW: What books are you currently reading?

PH: I’m currently reading The House by Anjuelle Floyd

DW: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

PH The industry has changed over the years, so publishing a book is so much easier now. Actually self-publishing has dominated the publishing industry. I would encourage those who are seeking to get published… go for it! Even if you desire to have a major publishing house offer you a deal and they do not, don’t loose heart, publish it yourself. What ever you decide to do, understand this that you will have to do most of the marketing.

 Find out more about the author here:

http://pauletteharper.blogspot.com  (Author blog)

http://myspace.com/pauletteh  (Social network)

http://victoriousliving4women.weebly.com (Author website)

www.pauletteharper.com (Author website)

http://www.facebook.com/paulette.harper2 (social network)

 Tomorrow on The POV Lounge…

VIP with Dominique

Don’t forget…

Join our new network! www.authorswritersnetworkinggroup.ning.com The place for authors and writers to connect!

Signing Off,

Dominique

One thought on “Winter Author’s Campaign; Paulette Harper

Leave a Reply

