Winter Author’s Campaign; Bob Zehmer Interview

Join us today as we get to know Bob Zehmer an author on the Winter Author’s Campaign a little better!

Dominique Watson (DW): Why did you become a writer?

Bob Zehmer (BZ): Well, it’s a good question. I started feeling this emotion since I was in my early teens. It’s like a passion that motions you to travel in the world of words, and there’s a lot of you that you can find in there.

 DW: When did you know you wanted to publish a book?

BZ: As soon as I began listening to what many people told me. They said that what I used to write was worth reading though.

DW: Why did you pick the genre that you write?

BZ: Let me say that I don’t know what genre I have picked so far. Look, my first publication was a long poem, then I published a novel – still pretty difficult to classified, I see many vendors put it in the political novel division – and this last work is a nonfiction. I like to write and I like to understand what happens to and in this world.

DW: If you could write in any other genre what would it be?

BZ: I love thrillers! Nonetheless, I don’t even know whether I would be able.

DW: What is your writing process?

BZ: It depends upon what I feel to write about. It’s always on the move, it’s a changing outlook. There are happenings and circumstances that push me to poetry, others towards social issues and so forth.

DW: How long did it take you to write your current book?

BZ: This book comes out of a research lasted years upon years. I had to collect sensitive information, interview people, visit places, study several phenomena. Well, it’s been a hard issue, and pretty delicate too.

DW: What mistakes have you made with this book that you will be sure to correct next time?

BZ: I had illusions on this work, because I was just reporting a significant problem of our time, and I had been searching high and low to get to the core of the matter. So, when I started submitting the manuscript to some publishers, everybody told me it was an exciting argument, before reading the book. Subsequently, I was invited to soothe my stance about financial issues and their links with politics and crime. Well, I refused, of course! So I started smelling that the best way to get my book out was to publish it as an e-book, that’s what I did. And I feel like expressing all my gratitude to ebookit for this achievement; Bo Bennet and all his staff have been exquisite. I don’t know if this book will ever be published in print, let’s see what happens.

DW: When do you feel most comfortable in your writing zone?

BZ: Writing makes me feel comfortable as such, that’s all!

DW: Who is your favorite author? Favorite book?

BZ: There are many. One of my favorite authors is the late lamented Frank McCourt, Angela’s ashes is one of the best books I’ve ever read so far.

DW: What books are you currently reading?

BZ: In the hands of the Great Spirit by Jake Page and Sitting Bull by Bill Yenne. I love native Americans culture.

DW: What advice do you have for those who are looking to publish their first book?

BZ: Never be discouraged. You’re going to get denial and it’s not fun when doors slam and shut in your face; still, you have to stand firm and hang on. Somewhere I wrote: You can reach to the top if you will and fly high ‘til there’s sky over you still – Well, they are not only verses, this is just what I think.

The Winter Author’s Campaign will continue in February with the spotlight of all five author’s and their books!

Tomorrow on The POV Lounge…

The Publisher’s Choice Review for “Empowered for Purpose”

Signing Off,

Dominique

Leave a Reply

