VIP with Dominique; The Neglecter

My very first article for VIP with Dominique was about Multi tasking. Some say I am the queen of multi tasking…maybe I agree J But when I multi task there are some things that get neglected.

My first love more than ever is writing; writing my books, writing poetry etc. and when you are running a business it sometimes takes the back seat in your drive of life.

By the time I finish wearing my CEO hate for the day, it’s time to be mommy and wife and I then realize my books are being neglected. I’m in the middle of writing two books. I don’t know how I’m going to get them done on time. My readers are waiting and several people are upset because I will not post a poem until this book comes out. I know it’s terrible of me but that’s how I am and this is where I am.

I’m sure I’m not alone. Many of you work, write, raise a family and run a business and feel bad for the things you neglect. So how do I get through it? Here’s my advice:

I only write when I’m in the mood. If I am not moved to write, then I don’t. When you write when you’re forced to do it, the story doesn’t come out right. So if I don’t feel moved, I don’t move on it.

I make room for what needs to be done. There are plenty of times when my schedule gets hectic but if something needs to be done, I simply fit it in where I can and get it done.

I never forget about me. Don’t ever forget about you and what you love. I love to give back but sometimes I have to take a step back and give some to myself.

Have you given yourself anything this month?

Straight from the DIVA

Dominique

Leave a Reply

