Truth B. Told

“Ladies and Gentlemen…welcome to the eulogy,” is how Truth B. Told opens his song “It Ain’t Over”. Not to say that he is lamenting about a passing on of a life…on the contrary…just like the song title, this Spoken Word artist is eulogizing about a life that ain’t over, but just getting started. He goes on: “I wanna thank life for just showing me different experiences…that’s why we call it the eulogy…it’s my whole life story.”

Portrayed by Poet and Author Hannah Drake as the Jay-Z of poetry, life experiences are showing him a vision of a long and promising career, similiar to the path that Jay-Z has laid out. When opportunity knocked, Christopher Owens a.k.a. Truth B. Told answered:

I guess you could say I’ve been a spoken word artist my entire life, but my first taste of spoken word was freshman year at Southern University in Baton Rouge, LA. I really began to get more serious about it when I transferred to Kentucky State University and won the opportunity to perform with Black Ice, Shihan, & Bassey. They all told me that I needed to stick with it, and that was really the moment when I dove into it. I’ve been a full time artist for about three years now.

And in those three years, Truth has already put together a lifetime of experiences. From the stage to the recording studio, he is keeping active and making his mark in the world of entertainment:

I have been blessed to be a part of many wonderful projects in the past; A little over a year ago I released my debut CD, “Lyrical Therapy, Vol. 1”; I have opened for acts such as Mint Condition, Dwele, Chrisette Michele, Jazmine Sullivan, Bilal, and have been in performances alongside wonderful people such as T.C. Carson. A few years back I also was featured in an independent film shot in Louisville with Frank Langella. Anyone who knows me can tell you, I try to stay as productive as possible…

Staying productive is exactly what Truth is doing. With his unique ability and quick-witted flow, recognition was just a matter of time:

I was just filmed recently for an episode of MTV’s “True Life” highlighting spoken word artists, I was recently nominated for 3 National Poetry Awards (New & Upcoming Spoken Word Artist of the Year, Single of the Year for My Testimony, and Poet of the Year). I’m currently working on my next triple CD project entitled “Vol 2: The Death & Rebirth of Christopher Owens”. It’s going to be a very soulful, revealing, and intriguing composition of spoken word, music, hip hop, rock… you name it, it’s in here.

The eulogy had to start somewhere, and with Truth, family and friends were a major part of his influences:

In life my grandfather (Willie Owens Sr.) who passed away & my father (Willie Owens Jr); in spoken word I can truthfully say my biggest supporters and influences are also my friends; Taalam Acey, Future from Flint, MI, and alpha.live from Indianapolis, IN are the first three who come to mind but everyone whom I have ever had the honor to encounter has influenced me in one way or another. You cannot hear a spoken word artist perform and NOT be influenced in some way, shape, or form.

With that said, the circle of Truth’s life experiences will surely create a fan base that’ll not only be influenced by the artist himself, but will influence them into welcoming others to their eulogy. Not an easy path…so Truth has some words to the wise:

To up and coming artists, and even to current artists, I say remain truthful to yourself and your art form. Remain loyal to yourself (most people are loyal to others but not themselves), and to your fans, and never be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. The fastest way to grow is to go in the direction you’re not familiar with. Don’t be afraid to take chances with your work. And most importantly, have fun & don’t be afraid to say what you TRULY feel., Someone out there needs to hear it, even though they may never tell you.

Christopher Owens a.k.a. Truth B. Told has SPOKEN.

To know more about Truth B. Told, people can go to: www.reverbnation.com/truthbtoldpoet to hear music, view videos & see his tour schedule.

Additional videos are also at: www.YouTube.com/truthbtoldtv

Leave a Reply

